## McGILL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS

# **Report of the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee** GD15-19

• The appointment of **Professor Derek Nystrom** as an observer on the Finance Committee for a three-year term starting January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2016 and ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2018;

### [With respect to the NGE Committee]:

• The reappointment of **Mr. Ronald Critchley** and **Professor Edith Zorychta** as members of the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee both for three-year terms starting January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018.

## 2. Appointments to Internal and External Non-Board Bodies [NG15-09]

The Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee, based on the recommendation of the Pension Administration Committee is recommending the following reappointments to the Pension Administration Committee:

Be it resolved that the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of, the Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee, approve the following;

- The reappointment of **Mr. Pierre Lavigne** as an Independent Member (appointed by the Board of Governors pursuant to advice from the Pension Administration Committee) on the Pension Administration Committee for a three-year term starting January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018;
- The reappointment of **Ms. Kimberly Holden** as a member designated by the Board of Governors on the Pension Administration Committee for a three-year term starting January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018.

#### II. FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

#### 1. Update on Results of Elections

The NGE Committee received an update on the results of University elections, which concluded on November 6, 2015. Based on the election results concerning academic staff, administrative and support staff and representatives of Senate on the Board, the following individuals have been re-elected or elected:

- Dr. Edith Zorychta has been re-elected by acclamation for a further three-year term as a representative of Senate on the Board of Governors;
- Mr. Ron Critchley has been re-elected for a further three-year term as a representative of the administrative and support staff on the Board of Governors;
- Mr. Derek Nystrom (Associate Professor, Department of English, Faculty of Arts) has been elected for a three-year term as a representative of academic staff on the Board of Governors.

The Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee conducted a preliminary review of the terms of reference of seven Board Committee. Further review of the terms of reference will be conducted by each Committee, and subsequent revisions will be considered by the NGE Committee and the Board of Governors later this governance year.

