#### PROMOTIONS

Assistant Professor:

### Bert Govig

Associate Professor:

Mark Blostein Christina Greenaway Ronald Olivenstein Lawrence Rudski Vicky Tagalakis Judith Therrien

Full Professor:

James Brophy Mark Eisenberg Danielle Malo Nancy Mayo

### AWARDING OF TENURE

Associate Professor (with tenure):

Volker Blank Paul Brassard Deborah Da Costa Ken Dewar Carolyn Ells James Engert Elizabeth Fixman Christina Haston Marina Klein Anne-Marie Lauzon Jun-Li Liu Andrew Mouland José Morais Keith Murai Salman Qureshi Elham Rahme

Awarded Tenure:

Anne Gatignol, Associate Professor John Kimoff, Associate Professor Jean-Pierre Routy, Associate Professor

#### HONOURS

Louise Pilote has been presented with the Faculty Honour for Educational Excellence Award on June 12th, 2008.

Mark Wainberg has been named Chevalier of France's Légion d'honneur.

**David Goltzman** received the 2009 Gerald D. Aurback Award from The Endocrine Society.

Vassilios Papadopoulos has been elected a Member of the *Académie Nationale de Médecine de France*.

Jean Bourbeau has been appointed to the Global Initiative for Chronic Obstructive Lund Disease (GOLD).

John H. Burgess published a book titled Doctor to the North, relating his remarkable experiences as a cardiologist and consultant to the Inuit.

Colin Chalk has been granted the Dr. Joseph Mikhael CAIR Award.

**David Eidelman** has been elected a Fellow of the American College of Physicians.

Robyn Tamblyn has been elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

**Barry Posner** has been awarded the 2008 Distinguished Service Award by the Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism.

## DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS

The JGH Department of Medicine Staff and Residents Awards Year-End Party took take place on June 19, 2008. Congratulations to this year's recipients !

**Dave Feder Award**: Presented to the resident who most practices medicine with compassion and sensitivity. Displays kindness, respect and camaraderie towards colleagues and educators. Carries a positive outlook enabling him/her to enjoy a meaningful balanced life beyond his/her profession.

Awarded to: Dr. Jennifer Nguyen

Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award: For academic excellence and outstanding contribution to patient care.

Awarded to: Dr. Nathaniel Bouganim

Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award: To the resident who exhibits an						
enduring	ts	t	Μ		Um	endu
ê						

Physician-in-Chief Award For Outstanding Service to the MUHC Department

## Dr. Linda Snell

Department of Medicine For Research by a McGill Core Internal Medicine Resident

## Dr. Benjamin Smith

Department of Medicine Award For Research by a Subspecialty Resident

## Dr. Susan Poelman

MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award

Dr. Geoffrey Hendy Dr. Allan Sniderman

The Louis G. Johnson Award For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by RVH residents

## Dr. Benjamin Smith

The Lorne E. Cassidy Award For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by MGH residents

## Dr. Anna Rahmani

The Douglas G. Kinnear Award Outstanding Clinician-Teacher at the MUHC

Dr. Phil Wong

The W.H. Philip Hill Award Outstanding Clinician-Teacher at the MUHC

# Dr. Tiina Podymow

MUHC Department of Medicine Awar