SCHOOL of RELIGIOUS STUDIES

modifications in, deletions of, or substitutions for courses of instruction offered through the School of Religious Studies. The SRS Council may, through the SRS Director and the Dean of Arts, discuss its objectives and problems with the Principal. (Statutes 9.1.3)

2.1.2 Amending Formula:

To the extent permitted by the University Statutes, and subject to approval by the Arts Faculty Council where required by the University Statutes, SRS Council, composed pursuant to Handbook Article 2.2.1 or 2.2.2 below, may amend the provisions of this Handbook in accordance with the Procedures of SRS Council (Handbook Article 2.3 below)

- a) motions arising from reports of the standing committees of the Council;
- b) procedural motions to regulate conduct of the meeting; c) non-substantive motions with unanimous consent of the Council.
- 2.3.4 Attendance at meetings of the SRS Council

3. THE BA RELIGIOUS STUDIES PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

- 3.1 The BA Religious Studies Programs Committee is composed of the Director ex officio; four members of faculty, as defined in Article 2.2.1 a); the Student Affairs Coordinator of the SRS, ex officio, with voice but not vote; and, except when dealing with matters contemplated in Article 2.2.2, the representative of the Religious Studies Undergraduate Society duly elected according to the Constitution of the Society.
- 3.2 The BA Religious Studies Programs Committee proposes, oversees, makes recommendations and reports to SRS Council and, where required, to Arts Faculty Council and Dean on all aspects of the structure, content, policy and courses relating to all BA programs in Religious Studies. The Committee initiates course and program revisions in BA programs in Religious Studies and communicates with the relevant organs of the Faculty of Arts.
- 3.3 The Chair of the BA Religious Studies Programs Committee is appointed by the Director of SRS. The Chair convenes meetings and prepares agenda. The Chair is Undergraduate Program Director for BA Religious Studies programs for purposes of liaison with the Faculty of Arts. The BA Chair also coordinates the SRS BA Academic Advisors.

4. THE BTH PROGRAM COMMITTEE and THE BTH ADMISSIONS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE

5. THE GRADUATE PROGRAMS AND POLICIES COMMITTEE and THE GRADUATE ADMISSIONS AND FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE

- 5.1.1 The Graduate Programs and Policies Committee is composed of all faculty, as defined in Article 2.2.1 a); one PhD student representative, one STM student representative, and one MA student representative, duly elected according to the Constitution of the Religious Studies Graduate Society; and the Student Affairs Coordinator of the SRS, ex officio, with voice but not vote.
- 5.1.2 The Graduate Admissions and Fellowships Committee is composed of all faculty, as defined in Article 2.2.1 a); and the Student Affairs Coordinator of the SRS, ex officio, with voice but not vote. (The Graduate Admissions and Fellowships Committee does not have student representation.)
- 5.2.1 The Graduate Programs and Policies Committee oversees and administers all aspects of the structure, content, policy, examinations and courses relating to WKH 6FKRRO¶V JUDGXDWH SURJ (STM; MA; PhD), reporting as required to the SRS Council and to the Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies Office. The Graduate Programs and Policies Committee reviews all MA and PhD thesis proposals and thesis supervision arrangements and supervisory committees.
- 5.2.2 The Graduate Admissions and Fellowships Committee reviews applications for graduate programs and recommends admissions and readmissions. The Graduate Admissions and Fellowships Committee deals with all matters relating to confidential student information, grades, standing, promotion and recommended graduation of MA, STM, and PhD students in Religious Studies.
- 5.2.3 Meetings of the Graduate Admissions and Fellowships Committee are closed to non-members, except by invitation of the Chair, and its deliberations are confidential.

6. VISITING SPEAKERS COMMITTEE

- The Visiting Speakers Committee is composed of the Director ex officio and at least three other faculty, as defined in Article 2.2.1 a).
- The Visiting Speakers Committee solicits nominations for possible Birks lecturers and other visiting lecturers and special speakers; brings possible nominations for Birks lecturers to the SRS Council; and advises the Director with regard to Birks lecturers and other visiting lecturers and special speakers.

- 7. CHAPEL COMMITTEE
- 7.1 The Chapel Committee is composed of the SRS Director ex officio (as Birks Building Director) and other faculty, as defined in Article 2.2.1 a) DW WKH 'LUHFWRU¶V GLVFUHWLRQ
- 7.2 The Chapel Committee advises the Director and the Administrative Coordinator on appropriate uses of the Birks Heritage Chapel

9. DEPARTMENTAL TENURE COMMITTEE

Unless otherwise provided in the Regulations Relating to the Employment of Academic Staff or other relevant regulations:

9.1 In the School of Religious Studies the Director (normally ex officio chair of the DTC) shall appoint to the DTC at least four other members

10. SELECTION COMMITTEES

- 10.1 Composition:
- 10.1.1 A Selection Committee is struck when the Dean of Arts informs the School that a Recruiting Licence for a tenure-stream appointment has been issued.
- 10.1.2 There are two patterns for the composition of Selection Committees for academic appointments to the School of Religious Studies: for General Selection Committees; and for Special Selection Committees for new appointments in New Testament, Old Testament, History of the Christian & K X U F K D Q G 7 K H R O R J \ Z K H U H V X F K D S S R L Q W P H Q W V D U H L Q W H Q G H commitments to the Montreal School of Theology.
- 10.1.3 All prospective selection committee members must have completed, or concurrently receive University training about how to conduct an effective and equitable search, in compliance with University and Faculty norms.
- 10.2 General Selection Committees:
- A General Selection Committee is struck for any for tenure-track appointment in the School of Religious Studies other than those described in Section 10.3 below. This includes appointments to the Named Chairs within the School of Religious Studies (the W.M. Birks Professorship of Comparative Religion; the J.W. McConnell Professorship of Philosophy of Religion; the Barbara and Patrick Keenan Chair in Interfaith Studies), as well as appointments in New Testament, Old Testament, History of the Christian Church, and Theology, where such appointments are not LQWHQGHGWRFRPSO\ZLWKWKH8QLYHUVLW\¶VFRPPLWPHQWVWR
- 10.2.2 General Selection Committees shall be composed of at least four members of faculty, as defined in Handbook Section 2.2.1 a) (selected by the Director, who also appoints one of the four as Chair); one graduate student (selected by the Director in consultation with the Graduate Program Director); one undergraduate student (selected by the Director in consultation with the B.A. and B.Th. Undergraduate Program Directors); and (if the Dean chooses) one representative of the Dean of Arts. All members of the Committee have both voice and vote and, in the event of a tied vote, the Committee Chair shall have an additional or casting vote.
- 10.2.3 For Selection Committees for joint tenure-track appointments in the School of Religious Studies and another unit, the composition of the Joint Selection Committee for that appointment shall be determined by the Dean in consultation with the Director and the Chair of the other unit.
- 10.3 Special Selection Committees: Q TsC80 612 7I-73rucan97 T n BT /h4F>-4 Co Committees: Q TsC80 612 7I-73ruce

10.7.4 The Committee will design the process of interviews and on-