Meeting of April 30, 2013 at 8:30 a.m.

1. AMENDMENTS TO STANDING COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

1.1 Academic Policy Committee

The Nominating Committee considered the three amendments below and recommends them all for approval:

1. The Academic Policy Committee (APC), upon the request of the Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations), proposed modifying its terms of reference to refer to the "

Revised Terms of Reference to the Academic Policy Committee

TERMS OF REFERENCE The Academic Policy Committee ("the Committee") is a Standing Committee of Senate charged with 1.2

2. COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

2.1 APPOINTMENTS TO SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

2.1.1 Academic Policy Committee

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment of bey Shea Farzan Subhani and Taneille Johnson as SSMU representatives forerms beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.

- Approve the appointment doran Xu as the PGSS representative for a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.
- Approve the appointment Stephane Somasundaramas the MCSS representative for a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP

The Provost, Chair: Professor Anthony C. Masi The Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity), Vice-Chair: Lydia White The Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning): Professor Morton J. Mendelson The Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate: Professor Rima Rozen The Trenholme Dean of Libraries or delegate: Ms. Carole Urbain The Associate Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies: Professor Martin Kreiswirth The Director, Teaching and Learning Services: Professor Cynthia Weston Board of Governors Representative: Mrs. Sally McDougall – Dec. 31, 2013

One member from each of the faculties (named by Senate Nominating Committee)

Professor Arun Misra (Engineering) – 2014 Professor Laurie Hendren (Science) – 2014 Professor Wendy Adams (Law) – 2014 Professor Craig Mandato (Medicine) – 2014 Professor Laura Stone (Dentistry) – 2014 Professor William Hendershot (FAES) – 2014 Professor Kimiz Dalkir (Education) – 2014 Professor Kimiz Dalkir (Education) – 2014 Professor John Galbraith (Arts) – 2015 Professor Steven Huebner (Music) – 2015 Professor Emine Sarigollu (Management) – 2016 Professor Ian Henderson (Religious Studies) – 2016

Student members:

<u>Undergraduate: Joey Shea</u> <u>Undergraduate: Farzan Subhani</u> <u>Undergraduate: Taneille Johnson</u> <u>Graduate: Boran Xu</u> Graduate: TBD <u>Macdonald Campus: Stephanie Somasundaram</u> Continuing Studies: TBD

Secretary: Ms Helen Richard

1.1.4 Committee on Libraries

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment Grwenyth Epsteirand the reappointment of Kir2n

2.2 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS 2.2.1 Advisory Council on the Charter of Students' Rights

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment of Kiran Roas the SSMU representative for term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP Professor Daniel Cere (RELIGIOUS STUDIES) – 2014 Professor Shaheen Shariff (EDUCATION) – 2015 Professor Jane Everett (French, ARTS) – 2015 Ms. Sharon Rankin (LIBRARIES) – 2015

Two student members: <u>Undergraduate: Kiran Ross</u> Graduate: TBD

1.2.2 Committee on Student Discipline

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment of frofessor Fiona Benson (Education) as ViceChair for a term beginning September 1, 2013.

- Approve the reappointment ofromessors Fiona Benson (Education) Benjamin Simpson (FAES) Ingrid Sladeczek (Education) antole appointment of refessors Ian Strachan (FAES) as members of the academic stauff terms beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2016.
- Approve the appointment of Guillaume Blaiss SSMU representatives a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.
- Approve the appointment of Xu and the reappointment of Jim Avik Ghoshdastidaer PGSS representatise for terms beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.
- Approve the appointment Stephanie Somasundararas the MCSS representative for a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP

The Dean of Students – Professor Andre Costopoulos The Associate Dean of Students – TBD

Chair, Vice-Chair and eight other members of the academic staff: Professor Richard Leask (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2015 (Chair) <u>Professor Fiona Benson (Integrated Studies, EDUCATION) – 2016 (Vice-Chair)</u> Professor David Ragsdale (Neurology, MEDICINE) – 2015 Professor Helen Amoriggi (Integrated Studies, EDUCATION) – 2015 Professor Rustum Choksi (Math, SCIENCE) – 2015 Three graduate students: <u>Boran Xu</u> <u>Jim Avik Ghoshdastidar</u> TBD Two Macdonald Campus: <u>Stephanie Somasundaram</u> <u>TBD</u> Continuing Studies: <u>TBD</u> <u>TBD</u>

Secretary: Ms Edith Breiner

2.2.3 Committee on Student Grievances

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment offrofessorKen Ragan (Scienc) as Chair for a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2015.

- Approve the appointment oProfessor Victor Muniz-Fraticelli (Law/Arts) and the reappointment of Professor Paul Thomassin (FAES) members of the academic staff for terms beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2016.
- Approve the appointment of Guillaume Blaiss SSMU representative for a term beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.
- Approve the **ra**ppointment of Moksha Serrano as PGSS representative farterms beginning September 1, 2013 and ending August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP

Chair: Professor Ken Ragan (Physics, SCIENCE) - 2015

Four other academic staff:

Professor Franck Mucciardi (Mining and Materials, ENGINEERING) – 2015 Professor Teresa Strong-Wilson (Integrated Studies, EDUCATION) – 2015 Professor Paul Thomassin (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences) – 2016 Professor Victor Muniz-Fraticelli (Law/Arts) - 2016

Two Assessors:

Ms Kate Glover (Law) – 2014 Professor Alana Klein (Law) – 2015

Two undergraduate student members: <u>Guillaume Blais</u> TBD Two graduate student members: <u>Moksha Serrano</u> TBD

Secretary: Ms Bonnie Borenstein

2.2.4 Appeal Committee for Student Discipline and Grievances

RECOMMENDATIONS Approve the re

2.3 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

2.3.1 Senate Representatives to Advisory Committees for the Selection of a Dean of a Large Faculty

EXCERPT FROM THE MCGILL UNIVERSITY STATUTES:

3.4.2 Before recommending an appointment or reappointment for the office of dean of a large faculty, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee of thirteen members, which shall consist of four members nominated by the faculty immediately concerned, four members not necessarily members of the faculty concerned, nor of Senate, appointed by Senate, two members appointed by the Board of Governors, and three student members.

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointments of the following persassenate representatives an Advisory

2.4 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS 2.4.1 Ad Hoc Committee to Review the Composition of Senate

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointments of Profess**Bh**ilip Oxhorn (Arts) and Edith Zorychta Medicine), Mary Jo McCullogh (Student Accounts) arAddam Bouchard(PGSS) to the Ad Hoc Committee to Review the CompTJ 0 Cnteeg